Skip to main content

Table 1 Categories of food security measures

From: Food security in the Savannah Accelerated Development Authority Zone of Ghana: an ordered probit with household hunger scale approach

Category Measurement indicator
Dietary diversity and food frequency Food Consumption Score (FCS)
Household Dietary Diversity Scale (HDDS)
Spending on food Cost of Calorie (COC)
Consumption behaviours Coping Strategies Index (CSI)
Reduced Coping Strategies Index (rCSI)
Food Security Index (FSI)
Experiential measures Household Food Insecurity and Access Scale (HFIAS)
Household Hunger Scale (HHS)
Latin America and Caribbean Food Security Scale (ELCSA)
Self-assessment measures Self-assessed measure of food security (SAFS)